The Night Before New Year’s Eve

Just spent the night with some old friends. It was okay. Hard. Sometimes I’m just not in the social groove and tonight, I found myself quite uncomfortable. The interaction wasn’t as lively as I hoped and instead of hearing stories of hope, I found stories of desperation. Stories of lovers saying bad things to each other, of children disrespecting their parents, and of hard days and hard ways.

The new year is less than 24 hours away. We are hurtling toward that magic moment when the clock strikes 12 and we hope to turn a new page, start a new day. So far, I have quite a long list of page turners:

  • Lose weight
  • Be healthier
  • Run a 5k
  • Workout more
  • Blog more
  • Post pictures every day and more
  • Be more positive
  • Be more energetic
  • Stop cutting myself with knives while cooking dinner
  • Kick Ravi’s ass at fantasy football/baseball/something
  • Rediscover passion
  • Get together with friends more (this might curtail awkward get-togethers that occur once a year)
  • Laugh more often

I always have too much to say when I want to say it, and this is one of those instances.
Maybe tomorrow I will have more things in order.
23:44 and counting….

2 thoughts on “The Night Before New Year’s Eve

  1. Be a bit specific may help you accomplish your goals.
    Examples:
    Lose 10 lbs
    Eat 6 servings of veggie and fruit everyday
    Workout at least once per week
    …, etc.

    😉

  2. Good point. Making it measurable makes me more accountable…however, I might take it to the extreme…maybe…LOL 🙂 Thanks for the suggestion and for reading!

Leave a Reply

