8/365

Wee People

My husband is 13 years older than me. His oldest son is 4 years younger me. When my son was just 6, I had a grandchild.

To be honest, it was very hard. As a mother of only one child, it was my duty to focus on him and spoil him rotten. Let me reiterate. It was very hard. My husband and I pissed off a few people, unfortunately.

Talking to my daughter-in-law today, I don’t know that I would have or could have changed it. She apologized to us today for not making it to young son’s fall ball games in college. She only has THREE sons, a part-time job, a part-time volunteer position that should be a job, a plan to run a marathon, and much, much more. I looked at her incredulously. Each of the kids in this family have incredibly complex lives with a lot of things going on. I’m amazed at the way they navigate and flex their way through life while maintaining sanity. They are parents. This is what they should expect.

As parents, our kids come first. I wish it hadn’t been the case for my grandkids since they followed so swiftly on the feet of my own son. But, now that he’s in college, we do have more time. We still, are far away, and at times not the most social of beings, but we do try to see them more and spend more time. They are all amazing and incredible beings who just amaze me more and more every time I see them. What can I say? They have great grandparents, but even more importantly, they have incredible parents!

Today, I was blessed to spend time with my grandkids as I once again let my son loose again to college. By nightfall, he was happy to be done with us. I look forward to spending more time with the little rugrats following behind.

Leave a Reply

