55/366

Delayed post…

state patty's day

state patty's day

Friday. I love Fridays because I can wear jeans to work.

Another day with three meetings.

The first one was with 2 faculty members regarding a summer offering and a total redesign. These faculty members are awesome. They are funny, smart, and they share stuff with you. They are so excited about making their course better. We hammered out a lot of good things and I was energized. I got the one faculty member set up on Twitter and he is having the time of his life. I also showed him my database and he wants to use such an activity in one of his courses. I love when I feel like I have made an impact.

Meeting two was actually lunch with a faculty member. I’ve never done such a thing. I don’t know that anyone on my team goes out to lunch with faculty members. The leader of the Learning Initiative unit is always going out with faculty members, but I can’t say I know that members of my team go out. So, I felt a little honored, yet very self-conscious at the same time. We had a great time and got to know quite a bit about each other and she made me promise we would do it again. I am guessing all my talk about P90X and my husband’s double-knee replacement operation didn’t scare her off. I wish I wasn’t so painfully self-conscious.

tablet

tablet

And finally, we (Kent, and two of our student interns: Will and Lu) went on a tour of our extreme events lab. I’ve seen it before, with all the 3-D visualizations. Very cool stuff. New to the lab is a huge touch table that is about the size of 30 iPads. It was great watching Kent, Will, and Lu because they’d never seen it before.

hubby

hubby

I was supposed to go workout, but I got sidetracked by a little blue smurf. Went home, went to Otto’s. Had a pitcher of Spruce and split a quesadilla. Met a man who had a little too much to drink. That’s okay. He wanted to talk. It’s nice talking with people who think you are intriguing and interesting, even if they are inebriated.

Came home and watched “Marley and Me.” Hubby went to bed. I will never watch that movie again. All I could think about was all the dogs I lost before. Not an easy thing to do. Then I went and spoiled the basset. And I spoiled him more. I dread the day when I lose this puppy.

Leave a Reply

