77/366-On Baseball

It breaks your heart. It is designed to break your heart. The game begins in the spring, when everything else begins again, and it blossoms in the summer, filling the afternoons and evenings, and then as soon as the chill rains come, it stops and leaves you to face the fall alone.” – Bart Giamatti

Stretching Matt

Stretching Matt

They each tell their own story, but they come together as a team. Some have been there for years, others are new. They each bring something very special. And they all have a lot of heart.

It happens every time I get around them. I discover their idiosyncrasies, get a peek at their hearts, and I fall in love all over again.

bathroom break

bathroom break

This time, I was up baking cookies and brownies so that they had a treat during the break in their games. I stand close to them, capturing their sweat and tears, listening to their secret rituals, sacred chants, in hopes that this will be the one. I want to be a part of it. Want to be one of the whisperers who gives them that one key that may unlock the secret to their success. And I want to see them bask in that success.

clint pitching

Clint Pitching

Because, while I may not have seen it all, I have seen a lot. Seen the triumphs, seen the heartbreak…felt the rise and felt the fall. And if I could just tell them, give them one thing that might make a difference, I want to be sure that I am there to do it.

Right now, they graciously let me. And for that I am profoundly thankful.

I know that Becky loved baseball. Some days I know that I love it more.

Isaac's Home Run

Isaac's Home Run

Leave a Reply

