Raindrops on Roses–358/366

It has been a rough few days. My dad called Wednesday–his dog wasn’t doing well. We thought he would be put to sleep that day, but alas, it was not meant to be. The little guy fought, but on Friday, we had to put him down. He was a good little puppy. And though my dad doesn’t want anything to ever do with a dog or heartbreak again, I can’t see him living long without one. It’s like JoePa without football.

So today he came over for Sunday dinner and it was so quiet without Spike. But we had a nice time. Chatted, watched football. I didn’t unwind too terribly over fantasy football. I fell over a leg of the basset’s bed and nailed my knees and body. Falling when you get older isn’t good and my body was already being evil with sidestitches and such.

So after my dad left, I took and epsom jet bath. We were supposed to watch “It’s a Wonderful Life” tonight because the spud will be at his squeeze’s house tomorrow. The husband was asleep by 7, so we didn’t watch any movie. I happened to flip through the channels and found “The Sound of Music.”

When I was little, my parents used to have parties and I was supposed to hide and not be seen. These parties must have been around Christmas because I can remember watching “The Sound of Music” off in a lone, quiet bedroom. How I so much wanted to be like Maria…the quiet, big-hearted, geeky chick who sings gets it all. Oh yeah.

350d2ee84d7511e2b47222000a1f9e47_7

I still want to be like Maria. I want to sing at the top of my lungs, say what I mean to say, dance in the moonlight, fall in a river, wear clothes made out of drapes, dance on the top of mountains…you get the gist… Can’t ask for more than this…except for a Santa basset alight on a cold winter’s day…and a run…but after today, I might have to wait for a bit…

One thought on “Raindrops on Roses–358/366

  1. I am so sorry for your loss. As my puppy is 13 or so as he was adopted this strikes very close to home. May the knowledge of that unconditional love we get from our pets bring you peace.

Leave a Reply

