Cheating – 181/365

wilsonMy basset hound is dying. He has congestive heart failure. There is a murmur in his heart that indicates more blood is pumping out of his heart than into his heart. At some point, the blood won’t go into his heart enough to sustain his body. He will fill with fluids and eventually die.

Not the most pleasant thing to think about. But, for now, he is still a very happy puppy, and when he dies, I hope it is swift and painless.

In the meantime, the local basset farm sells their bassets for $1350. That’s about 1/4 tuition for my son’s college for a year. Yeah. No dog is worth that. So, a coworker of mine told me about a friend of hers who had basset puppies. I told Mr. H. and he was lukewarm. I told my boss. She said I could work from home for a week or so to train a new puppy. Mr. H. told the spud, and it was all over.

dave

dave

We went to visit the puppies today, and I felt like such a dog snob. Not one of those puppies was as perfect as my Wilson. Not one!

We drove home, unsure of what we were going to do. But eventually, it comes down to a puppy, and a home, and love, unconditional and all that. And we did finally settle on a dog. We picked out Dave, here.

His tail is a little wonky and he’s not as perfect as Wilson, but then, no puppy ever will be. Dave will be perfect in his own way. Dave will be Dave and we will love him for every ounce of that. I hope when we bring Dave home to meet Wilson that they find a synergy…that Dave perks up Wilson and Wilson doesn’t hate him and his little, sharp puppy teeth. I hope it all works out for the best. Right now, I feel like I’m cheating.

It’s never easy moving on to another segment of your life. We can only move forward and hope for the best. While some things may not be what you want or expect, we can only hope to make the best of them. Here’s to our newest basset adventure.

Leave a Reply

