3/365: Kick It

January 3

Kick it

What’s the 11th item on your bucket list?


After much thought, I really don’t have a bucket list.

When I was in high school, I always thought I’d like to go visit the places in the books I read in Europe. I’d follow the steps of Tess or Jude the Obscure. That would be nice. It would be nice to maybe see Hawaii or some other tropical paradise. As I have aged and battled the test of time, and money, and reality, I realize that most things I wish for are just pipe dreams and/or impossible. I don’t care to jump out of planes, cross any oceans, or do anything extreme. Really. I value the sanctity of safety and comfort.

The big ticket item would be to meet Sting. But, I don’t really need to do that. Because maybe it would ruin the fantasy. I mean seriously…what would we talk about anyway? Short, little, round, fat, paranoid woman meets hot, sexy, world-traveler, yoga and song master. “How YOU doin’?”

My life is short. And I expect it to be that way. My mom died by the time she was 56. I’ve already done a great amount of things. I’ve lived and traveled to many places. I’ve touched the lives of many. I have performed meaningful service. I have met great people. I have great friends. I have a great kid. I have a great basset. I met and talked with Garth Brooks. (I should have stayed on the bus.) There’s not much more that could excite me (except a red hot kiss or an evocative conversation.)

me and garth brooks

Melissa and Garth Brooks

Trying to come up with ten things is just about impossible. To have a bucket list implies you have a large amount of money and a large amount of time…I have neither, and most of my closest relatives are dead.

In the interest of this post, I’ll try to make it work.

Bucket list #1 – Hang out with my mom more. (Oh. Wait. She’s dead.)

Bucket list #2 – Meet Sting. (Yeah. How the hell am I going to do that?)

#3 – Live on the Clarion. (In a small, broken down trailer on a small plot of land.)

#4 – Live on the Chesapeake. (50 miles inland, in a modular home, on a small plot of land.)

#5 – Visit Europe. (When I have lots of money, and terrorism isn’t an issue.)

#6 – Own lots of bassets. (When I can afford to house and feed them.)

The rest is out of my control. Have a good kid. Be financially secure. Witness the wonder of every day.

However, if I had to give you a #11, it would be this:

#11 – Meet those who I work with at a distance.

I do a lot of subcontracting. And there’s no need for me to fly into HQ or travel anywhere. Everything I do can be done completely online. And that’s fine. But, I do miss the human touch. I banter with some folks…share tales of life and family. One day, I would just physically love to be standing in front of that person…to shake their hand, give them a hug, grasp their fingers in mine while looking them in the eye. I have met some amazingly special people…but we have never met face to face. Now is the time. Just because. Just because I need the contact.

I don’t want for much. I’m beyond wishing for things that money can’t buy. I just want to realize the wish that I’m protecting in the palm of my hand. Here’s to the wish and the dream.

Leave a Reply

