7/365: Helpless

January 7

Helpless

Helplessness: that dull, sick feeling of not being the one at the reins. When did you last feel like that –- and what did you do about it?


I don’t feel helpless often, yet it seems at one point everyday, I lose focus…and then I am.

Today, I am wrestling with adobe pdfs and poor course design.

I simply want to make a fill-in-the-blank pdf accessible. I can’t do it. Not easily. It’s mostly that I don’t have time for this. I’m frustrated by the lack of resources, the lack of input. Someone, surely has done this. And if not, why is it this way? Why can’t this be easier?

I rail against the ticking of the clock, the pressure of expected projects, and the fact that I’m only one person who happened to be replace by three people and two promotions. Some days, I don’t get paid enough. But that’s okay. None of us do. It’s better than being unemployed for a year, or two, or more.

I’m not so helpless after all.

On another note, it’s colder than snot. Helpless there. I’m hoping to dress warm!

Leave a Reply

