12/365: Take Two

January 12

Take two

Run outside. Take a picture of the first thing you see. Run inside. Take a picture of the second thing you see. Write about the connection between these two random objects, people, or scenes.


before and afterIf you tell me to run outside and take a picture randomly, then do the same thing inside…it’s not going to be random.

Sorry.

My son went back to college today. The first picture is of him rubbing the puppy. The second is after he left, we found a coffee cup he left behind. As often as we try, it never fails…we miss something. Today it was the cup.

My son spent four weeks with us over Christmas. It was wonderful. It was disruptive. I think about as the days pass…as my son gets older, his days will be limited in our lives. He’ll get married. He’ll have kids. We’ll be lucky if we see him once or twice a year.

I get awful crotchety about the invasion of my space…but I am more scared about the evacuation of it. In the blink of an eye you go from crowded to alone. I can’t wait for him to come home soon.

Leave a Reply

