14/365: Ripped from the Headlines

January 14

Ripped from the headlines

Head to your favorite online news source. Pick an article with a headline that grabs you. Now, write a short story based on the article.


Doing this a couple days late…

So, I went to the Blaze.com and then AOL, and all of the stuff I saw was junk…absolute junk.

My favorite news feed, I asked myself. Ha. What was I thinking? I went to Twitter.

I found this one tweet that caught my eye and led me to this article:

California drought emergency declared by Gov. Jerry Brown

It reminded me of another article a friend of my son’s had posted on Facebook the other day…something along the lines that the explosion of marijuana farms out west is drying up streams in Oregon and Washington where salmon spawn. There was heated debate that it shouldn’t be pinned on marijuana growers…we all use water, sometimes irresponsibly. It also made me think of the recent water crisis in West Virginia, where the water was tainted by the chemicals from a coal plant.

Some days, I go down the doomsday path of thought, that really, at some point, our earth will not be able to sustain us. No matter how much we try. Really. Think of the exponential growth of population with the draw on all our precious resources. The media politics it all. It gets real old. Ultimately, there will be a real day when water truly becomes scarce and the movie, Waterworld, becomes real. Yeah. I can get all doomsday on you, if you let me. However, I do believe in the power of innovation and science that good things can be done and discovered. And I hope that is the case. We just gotta get the media and the politics out of it all. And seriously, that will tie into the next post.

What would you do if you had to go without water for a week?

Leave a Reply

