Radio Silence

It’s odd that I use that term because I love music and I love the radio. In fact, just typing that made me think of Queen’s “Radio Gaga”

and Wall of Voodoo’s “Mexican Radio.”

I often think I should blog about the first song I break out singing to in the car in the morning. This morning it was the Bee Gees’ “How Deep is Your Love?”

“What would I write…” I think, “that would be meaningful to my readers out there?”

That the year was 1977 when this song came out? That I was 8 years old? That I was living in Missouri City, Texas, in a small ranch house with my mom, dad, brother, and sister? That I remember during the summer, I would get on my bicycle with the banana seat and ride to the community pool to swim? Doesn’t it amaze you that our parents let us out of their sight to ride how many blocks away to go swimming with a bunch of strangers?

I was in 4th grade, I think, and probably at my 3rd school already. I already was feeling like an outcast having moved so much and my mom sewing me corduroy long dresses that hung to the ground. I secretly adored that dress. I don’t remember other kids’ mom’s sewing their clothes. I had these brown shoes that were similar to Doc Martens. I also had saddle shoes…as you can see in my About picture on this same site.

I liked the Bee Gees. My mom liked them more. She had a thing for Barry. He was hairy. I preferred Andy Gibb. He was much sweeter and not as hairy. It’s unfortunate he had to die at such a young age.

I try to look back across the landscape of my life to explain how I arrived at where I am today, especially through. Music influenced it quite a bit, but sometimes, I just have to step away to sit in silence instead of singing at the top of my lungs. So…I don’t know if I could blog daily about some random song. It’s kind of hard to pick one, though, and it almost seems as if a random song would be more fruitful. Thoughts?

I’m also doing a few things differently. Went through a transformation by completing the Whole 30 Challenge, being more mindful about things, and exercising and reading on a more regular basis. I’m interested in crafting a personal mission statement. Finishing my master’s degree. Reading The Happiness Project. Discovering the meaning of life.

We’ll see how it pans out. Here’s to being back and singing, even if it is off key.

Leave a Reply

