Happy New Year!

23 days. 23 days into this year, and I finally feel like I can breathe.

Day 1, of course, was the start of the New Year. Friends, family, pork, and greens. NFL Football. Day 2, was a credited vacation day. The Rose Bowl and watching Penn State. It was a great game, even though we lost. I started my 3rd round of the Whole30. I completed my first one in March of 2016, attempted a 2nd one in June, and this time, I was ready to get it done.

At 1 a.m. on Day 3, we got the phone call that my mother-in-law had passed away. She had been recovering from hip surgery. At 89, it was tough on her to have this surgery. I suspect she knew she would never make it back home. So, while it was somewhat expected, nothing can ever buffer you from the death of a loved one.

I had already been off work for 12 days in a row. While I wasn’t ready to go back to work, I certainly wasn’t ready to have another week off due to a death in the family. Additionally, because of the timing of the semester, this was the week right before the start of classes, and it would be inevitable that faculty would be seeking help from our office to get things ready. I would have to take my show on the road, Whole30 and all, and pray to survive the week.

It’s too bad that it sometimes takes a tragedy to bring people together. This was one of those times. We all lead quite busy lives. My stepchildren are grown and have families of their own, but for this one time, we all managed to get together under one roof. While it was bittersweet, it was also pretty amazing. It was good seeing the faces of people you really loved.

We came back on Saturday, and I had a few days to ease back into regular life. As expected, faculty came out of the woodwork requesting assistance to ready their courses. Issues came up over course development and accessibility. The first week of classes is always hell. It’s when everything that can break does and everything that can go wrong, goes wrong. This week was no different. By Wednesday, I could tell I was catching a cold. I sucked on zinc, continued on my Whole30, and got lots of sleep. But it didn’t work. I got a cold. I never get colds. This one was a doozy. I was congested, coughing, and absolutely miserable. I couldn’t even work out. Being on the Whole30, I had to watch what I medicated with and all the hot tea in the world didn’t help. After almost two weeks, the cold finally subsided. I could breathe again. I didn’t cough all night. It was like those Snickers commercials where the person returns to normal after eating a Snickers. (But I can’t eat Snickers bars!)

This morning, I actually got on the elliptical and felt motivated and inspired. This, I thought, is how the new year was supposed to go. Apparently, it got side-swept by Mercury in retrograde. But that’s all in the past. After three weeks of chaos and hell, we’re finally settling in for the long haul. I’ve got great things to do this year, and it’s time to go.

It may be a few weeks in, but I finally want to wish you a very Happy New Year! Here’s to an amazing 2017!

 

 

Leave a Reply

